Books You May Have Missed

Books You May Have Missed

Crossings
Crossings
By Landragin, Alex
2020-07 - St. Martin's Press
9781250259042 Check Our Catalog

 

 

A sparkling debut. Landragin's seductive literary romp shines as a celebration of the act of storytelling. --Publishers Weekly

Romance, mystery, history, and magical invention dance across centuries in an impressive debut novel. --Kirkus Reviews (Starred Review)

Deft writing seduces the reader in a complex tale of pursuit, denial, and …More
 

The Woman of a Thousand Names
The Woman of a Thousand Names
By Lapierre, Alexandra
Translator Zuckerman, Jeffrey
2020-03 - Atria Books
9781501197918 Check Our Catalog

 

From the internationally bestselling author of the "fascinating epic" (Associated Press) Between Love and Honor comes a rich, sweeping tale based on the captivating true story of the Mata Hari of Russia, featuring a beautiful aristocrat fighting for survival during the deadly upheaval of the Russian Revolution.

Born into Russian aristocracy, wealth, and security, …More
 

The End of Her
The End of Her
By Lapena, Shari
2020-07 - Pamela Dorman Books
9781984880512 Check Our Catalog

 

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"The End of Her will keep you guessing right up to the end . . . once you pick it up, you will not want to put it down."--USA Today

The new domestic suspense novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Couple Next Door and Someone We Know

A long-ago accident--and a visitor from out of …More
 

Vagabonds
Vagabonds
By Jingfang, Hao
Translator Liu, Ken
2020-04 - Gallery / Saga Press
9781534422087 Check Our Catalog

 

A century after the Martian war of independence, a group of kids are sent to Earth as delegates from Mars, but when they return home, they are caught between the two worlds, unable to reconcile the beauty and culture of Mars with their experiences on Earth in this spellbinding novel from Hugo Award-winning author Hao Jingfang.

This genre-bending novel is set on Earth in the wake of a …More
 

The Deep
The Deep
By Katsu, Alma
2020-03 - G.P. Putnam's Sons
9780525537908 Check Our Catalog

 

From the acclaimed and award-winning author of The Hunger comes an eerie, psychological twist on one of the world's most renowned tragedies, the sinking of the Titanic and the ill-fated sail of its sister ship, the Britannic.

Someone, or something, is haunting the ship. Between mysterious disappearances and sudden deaths, the guests of the Titanic have …More
 

Eden Mine
Eden Mine
By Hulse, S. M.
2020-02 - Farrar, Straus and Giroux
9780374146474 Check Our Catalog

 

 

In Eden Mine, the award-winning author of Black River examines the aftershocks of an act of domestic terrorism rooted in a small Montana town on the brink of abandonment, as it tears apart a family, tests the faith of a pastor and the loyalty of a sister, and mines the deep rifts that come when the reach of the government clashes with individual freedom

If I stay …More
 

Daughters of Smoke and Fire: A Novel
Daughters of Smoke and Fire: A Novel
By Homa, Ava
2020-05 - Harry N. Abrams
9781419743092 Check Our Catalog

 

The unforgettable, haunting story of a young woman's perilous fight for freedom and justice for her brother, the first novel published in English by a female Kurdish writer

Set in Iran, this extraordinary debut novel takes readers into the everyday lives of the Kurds. Leila dreams of making films to bring the suppressed stories of her people onto the global stage, but obstacles keep …More
 

That Churchill Woman
That Churchill Woman
By Barron, Stephanie
2020-01 - Ballantine Books
9781524799588 Check Our Catalog

 

The Paris Wife meets PBS's Victoria in this enthralling novel of the life and loves of one of history's most remarkable women: Winston Churchill's scandalous American mother, Jennie Jerome.

Wealthy, privileged, and fiercely independent New Yorker Jennie Jerome took Victorian England by storm when she landed on its shores. As Lady Randolph Churchill, she …More
 

Scorpionfish
Scorpionfish
By Bakopoulos, Natalie
2020-07 - Tin House Books
9781947793750 Check Our Catalog

 

 

After the unexpected deaths of her parents, academic Mira returns to her childhood home in Athens. On her first night back, she encounters a new neighbor, a longtime ship captain who has found himself, for the first time in years, no longer at sea. As one summer night tumbles into another, Mira and the Captain's voices drift across the balconies of their apartments, disclosing details and …More
 

The Joyce Girl
The Joyce Girl
By Abbs, Annabel
2020-06 - William Morrow & Company
9780062912879 Check Our Catalog

 

 

"Abbs has found a gripping and little-known story at the heart of one of the 20th century's most astonishing creative moments, researched it deeply, and brought the extraordinary Joyce family and their circle in 1920s Paris to richly-imagined life."--Emma Darwin, bestselling author of A Secret Alchemy and The Mathematics of Love
 

For …More
 

Nine Shiny Objects
Nine Shiny Objects
By Castleberry, Brian
2020-06 - Custom House
9780062984395 Check Our Catalog

 

 

In this extraordinary novel, Castleberry brilliantly hopscotches from person to person, from era to era, while somehow making all this fancy footwork look effortless and essential. - Jenny Offill, author of Department of Speculation and Weather
 

A luminous debut novel in the tradition of DeLillo and Egan, chronicling …More
 

Pride of Eden
Pride of Eden
By Brown, Taylor
2020-03 - St. Martin's Press
9781250203816 Check Our Catalog

 

 

The enthralling new novel from the acclaimed author of Fallen Land, The River of Kings, and Gods of Howl Mountain

Retired racehorse jockey and Vietnam veteran Anse Caulfield rescues exotic big cats, elephants, and other creatures for Little Eden, a wildlife sanctuary near the abandoned ruins of a failed development on the Georgia coast. But when …More
 

A Beautiful Crime
A Beautiful Crime
By Bollen, Christopher
2020-01 - Harper
9780062853882 Check Our Catalog

 

 

From the author of The Destroyers comes an intricately plotted and elegantly structured (Newsday) story of intrigue and deception, set in contemporary Venice and featuring a young American couple who have set their sights on a risky con.
 

"Stylish... a compelling take on the eternal question of how good people morph into criminals. …More
 

Destination Wedding
Destination Wedding
By Basu, Diksha
2020-06 - Ballantine Books
9780525577126 Check Our Catalog

 

From the internationally bestselling author of The Windfall. . . . What could go wrong at a lavish Indian wedding with your best friend and your entire family?

"Extremely obsessed with this book."--Chrissy Teigen - "A witty and romantic novel perfect for all readers."--Terry McMillan

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY MARIE CLAIRE

…More
 

The Last Train to Key West
The Last Train to Key West
By Cleeton, Chanel
2020-06 - Berkley Books
9780451490889 Check Our Catalog

 

Instant New York Times bestseller

One of Bustle's Most Anticipated Books of Summer 2020

"The perfect riveting summer read "--BookBub

In 1935 three women are forever changed when one of the most powerful hurricanes in history barrels toward the Florida Keys.

For the tourists traveling on Henry Flagler's legendary …More
 

The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls
The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls
By Hegi, Ursula
2020-08 - Flatiron Books
9781250156822 Check Our Catalog

 

 

A joy to read. --New York Times Book Review

From beloved bestselling author Ursula Hegi, a new novel about three mothers, set on the shores of the Nordsee, perfect for fans of Water for Elephants and The Light Between Oceans.

In the summer of 1878, the Ludwig Zirkus arrives on Nordstrand in Germany, to the delight of the island's people. But after the …More
 

Crooked Hallelujah
Crooked Hallelujah
By Ford, Kelli Jo
2020-07 - Grove Press
9780802149121 Check Our Catalog

 

"A book that you want to share with everyone you know and one that you are desperate to keep in your own possession. A masterful debut and a new and thrilling voice for readers across the globe." --Sarah Jessica Parker, on Instagram

It's 1974 in the Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma and fifteen-year-old Justine grows up in a family of tough, complicated, and loyal women presided over by her …More
 

Atomic Love
Atomic Love
By Fields, Jennie
2020-08 - G.P. Putnam's Sons
9780593085332 Check Our Catalog

 

A novel of science, love, espionage, beautiful writing, and a heroine who carves a strong path in the world of men. As far as I'm concerned there is nothing left to want.--Ann Patchett, author of The Dutch House

A highly-charged love story that reveals the dangerous energy at the heart of every real connection...Riveting.--Delia Owens, author of Where the Crawdads Sing …More